I-League 2020-21: Gokulam Kerala win first title after 4-1 loss to TRAU FC

Bidyashagar Singh’s strike within the twenty third minute did little to cease the Gokulam juggernaut as targets from Sharif Mohamed (69th), Emil Benny (74th), Dennis Antwi (77th) and Mohammad Rashid (90 + 6) offered them with the trophy.

Gokulam Kerala FC are the primary Kerala workforce to win the championship. I-League

Calcutta: Gokulam Kerala FC received their first I-League title on Saturday in spectacular vogue as they got here again from a purpose to beat TRAU 4-1 within the final recreation of the season in Calcutta.

Bidyashagar Singh’s strike within the twenty third minute did little to cease the Gokulam juggernaut as targets from Sharif Mohamed (69th), Emil Benny (74th), Dennis Antwi (77th) and Mohammad Rashid (90 + 6) offered them with the trophy.

As Churchill Brothers received 3-2 over Punjab FC within the different match of the day which happened concurrently at one other venue in Calcutta, Gokulam shared factors (29) with the Goan squad. , however was topped champion with a one-on-one document.

Within the two matches that each groups had performed within the season, Churchill had received 3-2 as soon as whereas Gokulam had emerged victorious 3-0 within the different.

Gokulam has thus certified for the group stage of the AFC Cup subsequent season, the second-tier membership competitors in Asia, as a champion of the I-League. In addition they turned the primary Kerala workforce to win the I-League title.

The coach of the profitable workforce Vincenzo Alberto Annese couldn’t disguise his pleasure on the achievement of his gamers.

“It is the most effective day of my life. I really feel so joyful and I really feel nice to be topped champion. I am immensely happy with my workforce and we deserved to be champions. We beat all of the groups and we now have performed like champions on this season, ”mentioned Annese.

“It means all the pieces to me. That is my first season in India and it has already been very particular. We now have a really particular workforce and nobody is taking part in the fashion of soccer that we play,” he added.

Bidyashagar, a revelation within the I-League similar to his workforce TRAU, opened the scoring with a superb end from exterior the field within the twenty third minute.

Proper after the restart, Chanso Horam had a golden alternative to provide TRAU his second purpose of the match however his chip shot went a number of inches above the bar, following a pleasant blocking motion. assault.

Gokulam striker Antwi failed to search out the online within the 62nd minute as his header swerved terribly from a Benny’s cross on the fitting flank.

Sharif’s 69th-minute free kick from the sting of the field grabbed the equalizer for Gokulam. The comeback was effectively on observe within the 74th minute when Benny handed his marker and slammed into Amrit Gope’s legs to provide Gokulam the lead.

Three minutes later, Antwi scored to increase the lead.

After TRAU participant Vincy Barreto was despatched off in further time, Rashid scored the fourth purpose for Gokulam, including extra shine to finish the exceptional comeback.

Within the different recreation, Churchill took the lead within the ninth minute when Clayvin Zuniga was introduced contained in the field. On the ensuing penalty, Slovenian striker Luka Majcen transformed on the spot, sending rival goalkeeper Jaspreet Singh the fallacious approach.

Churchill doubled his lead within the twenty fifth minute because of Zuniga, who scored his second purpose within the further first half to provide Goan’s facet a 3-0 lead.

Confronted with a tough activity, Punjab FC managed to drag one off within the sixty fifth minute because of Joseba Beitia and added 4 minutes later because of Papa Diawara.

Gokulam pocketed Rs 1 crore as prize cash whereas the second, third and fourth place groups within the desk obtained Rs 60 lakh, Rs 40 lakh and Rs 25 lakh respectively.

Bidyashagar (TRAU) received the highest scorer award (Rs 2.5 lakh) with the Hero of the League Award (Rs 5 lakh). The prize for the most effective goalkeeper (Rs 2.5 lakh) went to Kiran Limbu of Punjab FC. The Syed Abdul Rahim Award for Finest Coach went to Nandakumar Singh of TRAU.

Subscribe to Moneycontrol Professional at ₹ 499 for the primary yr. Use code PRO499. Restricted time provide. * T & C apply

Related Articles

Back to top button

Help Journalism! Disable Adblocker!

Please Disable AdBlocker. We're Group of Individuals who are working to provide important information, News, Updates, Tips etc. Please help us by disabling Adblocker on our Website. AS THIS IS ONLY POSSIBLE WAY TO RUNNING THIS WEBSITE.